Stiefvater Law, LLC
Ohio DUI Lawyers
Ohio OVI-DUI Laws
An Ohio OVI or DUI charge is serious. If you have been charged with DUI (or OVI), contact the Ohio DUI Lawyers at Stiefvater Law, LLC immediately for a free consultation. 216-867-0429 (office) or 440-376-9732 (24hr. help-line). Discover what an experienced and successful DUI Lawyer can do for you.
Ohio OVI-DUI Penalties
A charge of OVI-DUI is, at a minimum, classified as Ohio’s most serious misdemeanor (1st degree). Some drunk driving charges are classified as a felony. If you are convicted of drunk driving in Ohio – even if it is your first offense – there is a MANDATORY MINIMUM jail sentence of 3 days (up to 180 days), a MANDATORY MINIMUM license suspension of 6 months, fines that can exceed $1,000, and 6 points on your license (this can easily double the cost of your insurance). An OVI-DUI conviction will remain on your record forever. It cannot be expunged or sealed. Ohio DUI penalties increase with each conviction. Call or click for an explanation of the DUI penalties in Ohio.
Administrative License Suspension
If you have been charged with an OVI-DUI in Ohio, then your license is already under an administrative license suspension. You have a LIMITED AMOUNT OF TIME in which to appeal this suspension – if you do not appeal this suspension it can remain active even if you eventually beat your DUI. Contact an Ohio DUI Lawyer at Stiefvater Law, LLC or click for more information about your administrative license suspension.
Frequently Asked OVI-DUI QuestionsWill I get “party plates” if I’m convicted of my Ohio DUI charge?